Future Noise

Future Noise

Paul Catten ‘Themes Ans Variations For Strings And Electronics’ CD 2011

Paul Catten ‘Themes & Variations For Strings & Electronics’ CD 2011

Paul Catten first arrived on the scene in the late 90’s with hardcore lunatics Medulla Nocte and after two fierce albums, tour after tour, award nominations, he called it a day going on to form Murder One. Throughout the noughties Catten remained a prolific recording artist immersing himself in various styles of music. From the groove based metal of Murder One to the ultra doom of Lazarus Blackstar, taking in grindcore of his appearance on the Co-Exist album, his insane electronic noise project Stuntcock and the piano beauty of The Dark Half. Current band The Sontaran Experiment released their groundbreaking album in 2007, with cries of genius heaped upon it on its release.

Catten has surrounded himself with his instruments of choice and morphed into the typical hermit (de)composer and has written his most haunting yet most beautiful music to date, “Themes and Variations….”. The album was written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Catten himself over the course of late 2010 to early 2011 resulting in a disturbingly dark amalgam of experimental noise and sumptuous classical compositions, recalling the likes of Ben Frost’s acclaimed By The Throat album and Brian Reitzell’s soundtrack for 30 Days Of Night. A truly impressive album.

Limited to 200 copies, hand printed on an original Victorian letterpress in a gatefold sleeve and are available in the following 2 versions:

Slightly different artwork created in time for the Supersonic Festival, limited to 25 copies.

Standard Arwork & limited to 175 copies.


  • i) The Shocking Reality of Reaching Midlife
  • ii) An Army of Narcoleptics That Swarm Upon Us
  • iii) The Jedi and the Selective Mute
  • iv) Sonata for Oscillator and Theremin – estinto
  • v) Finale: Serenity in an Ocean of Storms


  • Written, Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Paul Catten
  • Produced by Paul Catten & Future Noise
  • Artwork by DesignVoid



PaulCatten ‘The Shocking Reality Of Reaching Midlife’

Purchase Info

You can purchase this, along with our other releases over at our Big Cartel Store.

« Back to Releases